My Life … And Everything On It!

Money, Money, Money!

Posted on: July 11, 2009

I just wanted to share this particular story of my eldest son while having a conversation with his dad.

Izzo:  “Daddy, can we go to Sta. Lucia Dept. Store tomorrow?”

Daddy:  “Why do you want to go there?”

Izzo:  “May titignan lang ako.”  (I just want to see something.”

Daddy: “What do you want to see there?”

Izzo:  “I want to buy a new toy.”

Daddy:  “We don’t have money yet, we have to wait till Daddy receives his salary.”

Izzo:  “Daddy, you have money … (Izzo went to the other side of the room to get a 5 peso gold coin and showed it to his dad)

Daddy: “That’s not enough for you to buy even a small toy.”

Izzo went to me and asked for all my 5 peso gold coins.

Hubby and I really had a good laugh that night.  My son really doesn’t have any idea yet of the real value of money.  He just knows that we need them to buy stuff (esp. his toys).   And that he cannot differentiate a big amount from a smaller amount.  The association of the gold thing maybe he got from watching cartoons on tv.  That when they were able to dig gold bars they say out loud that “We’re rich … we’re rich!”

O well, I wish we could dig up enough gold bars for us to be able to buy all the stuff that we need (and of course those that we want too).

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

